The College of Development Communication (CDC) celebrated its 25th Anniversary by honoring the loyalty and dedication of members of its workforce during 2023 CDC Outstanding Awards held on 20 December 2023 in the CDC Lecture Room 1.

Mr. Romeo “Tito Aga” C. Estimado, Administrative Assistant I of the Department of Educational Communication (DEC), was recognized as the 2023 CDC Outstanding Administrative Personnel.

He was deemed by his colleagues as a resourceful, innovative, and dedicated staff member, contributing to saving college resources, facilitating more efficient processes in instruction, research, extension, and administrative work, providing learning spaces for students, and fostering a positive and happy work environment. Additionally, he not only ensured the completion of his assigned tasks, but he consistently went above and beyond expectations and constantly demonstrated strong work ethic, a sense of initiative, and excellent interpersonal skills.

On the other hand, the Los Baños Times of the Department of Development Journalism (DDJ) was recognized as the 2023 CDC Outstanding Extension Program for its continued pursuit of development as a community news platform, where its goal of a better quality of life for the underserved and marginalized people was woven into every story it tells; for transforming information, education, capacity-building and community engagement work by amplifying the voices of different sectors, and narrating the stories of people from their own perspective; and for the zealous performance of its empowerment role in the community while being committed to the principles of truth-telling and ethical practice of journalism for development.

Finally, the following personnel were also recipients of the the CDC Service Awards for their many years of service to the college:

10 years

  • Elaine DC. Llarena
  • Geronimo T. Canonio

15 years

  • Aletheia  C. Araneta
  • Liza A. Cabrera
  • Mark Lester M. Chico
  • Romel A. Daya
  • Marifi T. Magsino

20 years

  • Elisa S.  Banasihan

25 and above

  • Mildred O. Moscoso (27 yrs)
  • Ma. Teresita B.  Osalla (31 yrs)
  • Ma. Stella C. Tirol (41 yrs)
  • Juvy N. Gopela (25 yrs)
  • Rodolfo C. Atayan (41 yrs)
  • Romeo C. Estimado (42 yrs)
  • Dante P. Ocampo  (29 yrs) 

The 2023 CDC Outstanding Awards was facilitated by the Honors and Awards Committee, chaired by Asst. Prof. Lester P. Ordan and co-chaired by Asst. Prof. Jyasmin M. Calub-Bautista, while the activities held for the 25th CDC Anniversary Celebration were led by the Socials and Special Events Committee, chaired by Dr. Ma. Teresita B. Osalla and Ms. Ma. Anais B. Villapando. (Miguel Victor Durian; Photos by John Anthony Mendoza; Videos produced by Mario Maningas, Anthony Lim, Lester Ordan, and Christopher Calamlam)